National Digital Literacy Mission (NDLM)

National Digital Literacy Mission (NDLM)

scheme April 25, 2016 15 Views

Digital Literacy:

ΓÇ£Digital Literacy is the ability of individuals and communities to understand and use digital technologies for meaningful actions within life situationsΓÇÙ

The Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (DISHA) or National Digital Literacy Mission (NDLM): The Scheme has been formulated to impart IT training to 52.5 lakh persons, including Anganwadi and ASHA workers and authorised ration dealers in all the States/UTs across the country so that the non-IT literate citizens are trained to become IT literate so as to enable them to actively and effectively participate in the democratic and developmental process and also enhance their livelihood.

Levels of training under the SCHEME

The two levels of IT training envisaged under the Scheme will have the following broad objectives:

Appreciation of Digital Literacy (Level 1)

To make a person IT literate, so that he/ she can operate digital devices, like mobile phones, tablets, etc., send and receive emails and search Internet for information, etc.

Basics of Digital Literacy (Level 2):

Besides IT literacy at a higher level, the citizen would also be trained to effectively access the various e-Governance services being offered to the citizen by the Government and other agencies.

Course Duration:

  • Level 1: 20 Hours (Minimum 10 Days and Maximum 30 Days)
  • Level 2: 40 Hours (Minimum 20 Days and Maximum 60 Days)

Medium of Instruction:

  • Level 1 and 2: Official Languages of India

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Level 1: Non-IT literate – Illiterate and upto 7th standard pass L
  • evel 2: Non-IT literate with atleast 8th standard pass
  • Age: 14 to 60 years

`For More Information: Click Here